Two things I don’t get… One that makes sense

There are two things I don’t get, and I come across them occasionally, primarily because I spend at least two and a half hours per day commuting to work.  Both are things that I’ve noticed on peoples’ cars.

 

First of all, I’ve got a bit of a bias against bumper stickers.  I figure that there are cheaper and better ways to advertise or communicate your message than on your car.  After all, it’s a car not a bill board right?  No, I’m not talking about the stickmen families (although, I’m not sure if I get that either.)   Have you seen the “Jesus fishes”?  They are symbols that the New Testament churches used (it was in the shape of a fish, and it referred to the word “fish”).

“The meaning of the word and symbol is very clever. The word ichthys means fish in Greek, but the letters are also the initials of five Greek words that mean “Jesus Christ, Son of God, Savior” (Iesous Christos Theou Yios Soter).”  Sometimes this symbol was used to help persecuted Christians to secretly know where meetings would be held.

 

I get it.  It’s an evangelism tool, kind of.  What I don’t get are the “Jesus Fish” with the legs at the bottom.  It’s really an expression of Darwinism and evolution, is it not?   I can understand extreme passion of modern day Christians who would opt to place this symbol on their cars, but why would you put a “Jesus Fish” with legs?  At least a Christian’s passion is about God, and Christ and faith and devotion…

 

What possible passion and fanaticism could one have about Darwin?  Sure, they may have an inkling for what they believe is truth, but is there no other warmer or more emotional truth?  Who do you thank for a new born baby, or a nice summer day?  Darwin?

 

What about the second thing?

 

Well, I almost have to blush to even mention it.  You may not see them often, but have you seen the trucks where individuals have put well… male scrotum underneath their vehicles?   I’m not even sure where one buys this type of truck accessory.  I’m not sure I want to know.  (I’m not sure if it’s as bad as those cars with eyelashes on their headlights.)

 

But, really??

With the much needed discussion of what it means to be a man, and what is masculine, and what is manly…I’ll tell you this; it’s not a truck. Being masculine, and being a man may not always be the same thing, but I can guarantee this… a truck is not a man.  It’s ridiculous, it’s border line offensive (as a man) and mostly weird.  Sorry, that’s just the way I feel.

 

Now, being a “Genesis Man” man is the recognition that the core of what we are (men) revolve around the concept of relationship: relationship with God, relationship with people, and relationship with the environment.

 

One thing I do get, that has nothing to do with vehicle paraphernalia, is the solution to much of the problems plaguing young men and men.  It’s Mentorship.  Mentorship is a key element in relationship, and it flows out of the idea of the importance of relationships as noted in Genesis 2.

 

 

 

Lastly, from this Summit we will be creating the Durham Mentorship Employment Network.  More information will follow.

 

See you there.

 

Israel
 

Leave a comment